Bruce Chan and Clarence Louie appointed to Vancouver Fraser Port Authority board of directors

March 28, 2019

Her Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the minister of transport in conjunction with a committee of port users, has appointed Bruce Chan and Clarence Louie to the board of directors of the Vancouver Fraser Port Authority.

Bruce Chan of North Vancouver, British Columbia, will replace current director Eugene Kwan, whose term will expire, effective May 14, 2019 for a term of three years. Mr. Chan has spent nearly 20 years in a variety of senior positions with Teekay Corporation, one of the world’s largest marine energy transportation, storage, and production companies, with offices in 15 countries and approximately 6,700 seagoing and shore-based employees. Prior to that, Mr. Chan was with Ernst & Young, LLC in Vancouver. Bruce holds a masters in business administration and is a chartered accountant and chartered financial analyst. Bruce has served on several boards, including the Royal Canadian Marine Search and Rescue and BC Ferries.

Chief Clarence Louie of Oliver, British Columbia, will join the board of directors, effective March 25, 2019, for a term of three years. Chief Louie was first elected to the Osoyoos Indian Band in 1984. Under his leadership, the band has developed into a multi-faceted corporation that owns nine businesses and employs hundreds of people. Chief Louie formed the Osoyoos Indian Band Development Corporation to manage these businesses and seek new economic opportunities. In November 2016, he was awarded the Order of Canada, one of Canada’s highest civilian honours, “for his innovative contributions to increasing economic opportunities for Indigenous communities”.

The Vancouver Fraser Port Authority’s board of directors is composed of 11 members: eight federal appointees, seven of which are chosen from port user recommendations; one provincial appointee for British Columbia; one provincial appointee for the three Prairie provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba; and one municipal appointee for the 16 municipalities bordering the port.

Learn more about governance and our board of directors on our website.

See All News

Share this story: